We were recently cold-called by a company calling themselves "Domain Support Group" (DSG), with supposedly 'urgent information' about our domain. They asked for a fax number so they could send us a notice about our supposed domain registration.
This company appears to be running either a scam or using heavy-handed tactics to trick consumers and businesses into registering either .info, .us or .biz accounts by claiming that similarly-named domains are in danger of being sold.
This group operates under the following names:
Domain Support Group
Internet Support Network (iSupportNet)
This company may be related to another company, called "Domain Registry of Americs", which is doing the same thing by e-mail.
If you receive an unsolicited e-mail, phone call or fax from any of these companies, do NOT under ANY circumstances give them your credit card information, and do not give them your fax number. If you do, you'll likely receive a strongly worded "urgent notice" claiming that your domain is about to expire.
We received a phone number for the DSG scammers:
1-800-875-7198
There's another phone number for these guys as well:
1-800-878-0765
There are laws regarding unsolicited phone calls and/or faxes permitting you to sue the solicitor for damages. Take advantage of these laws!
Other links regarding this scam:
www.paulgraham.com/domsupgroup.html
http://www.niner.net/docs/dsg.shtml
http://www.bankersonline.com/technology/techalert_040902.html